window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'G-7FKNC6S8N4', { 'link_attribution': true });

Auckland team’s playing for finals spots in Ford National Hockey Championship!

Share this article

The Auckland Men’s and Women’s NHC teams have both claimed important results in the Top 4 at the Ford National Hockey Championship in Dunedin on Thursday, setting up a thrilling day of final pool matches with finals qualification just one win away for both Auckland teams.

Auckland Women were impressive with a 3 – 1 win over Canterbury yesterday. Rhiannon Holdrich scored in the 9th minute, before Antonia Cortesi doubled the lead early in the 3rd quarter scoring in the 33rd minute.

Canterbury struck back just before quarter time in the 44th minute through Jenna-Rae McIntyre. An almost immediate reply right on quarter time via another Phoebe Steele goal, her third of the tournament, saw the lead restored to 2 goals.

Auckland Women face Manawatu today with a win enough to secure a spot in tomorrow’s final.

Auckland Men took on hosts Otago in their top 4 match, in a close battle with the Southerners. Otago took the lead in the second quarter, with a 22nd minute field goal to James Nicolson.

Auckland threw everything at the hosts and were able to equalise in the fourth quarter through a Penalty Corner, with Mitchell Murray slotting home in the 49th minute to set up a thrilling final quarter. The scores remained locked at 1 -1, each team claiming an important point and heading to shoot out for an extra point.

Matt van Aardt was almost unbeatable in the shoot out, conceding just once in the first of four of Otago’s attempts. Nic Finlayson, Shae Iswar and Julius Talavou all stepped up for Auckland and scored, from their attempts, taking the shoot out 3 – 1 and the all important extra competition point heading into today’s final top 4 pool game.

Auckland Men now face old foes Canterbury with a win also enough to secure a spot in the NHC Men’s final.

Thank you to Trillian Trust for their generous funding support, helping contribute toward tournament accommodation costs.


Auckland Men vs Canterbury @ 12:30pm Friday 16th September


Auckland Women vs Manawatu @ 2:15pm Friday 16th September



Second Round Pool Standings 

Pool C = Top 4

Pool D = Bottom 4










Goal Scoring Tables

Player Team FG PC PS Goals
ROBINSON Amy WGN 2 2 0 4
BOTHERWAY Tonya NHR 3 0 0 3
STEELE Phoebe AKL 0 3 0 3
WILLOCKS Anna CAN 0 3 0 3
ALLAN Mary WKO 2 0 0 2
BLAKE Paige NHR 2 0 0 2
BUCHANAN Tegan OTG 2 0 0 2
COX Hayley CAN 2 0 0 2
HILDESLEY Sophie NHR 1 0 1 2
HOLDICH Rhiannon AKL 2 0 0 2


Player Team FG PC PS Goals
O’CONNOR Kieran OTG 1 5 0 6
BAKER George CAN 0 4 0 4
HAYWARD Ricky WKO 2 1 0 3
MORTIMER Liam WGN 3 0 0 3
NICOLSON James OTG 3 0 0 3
CROOKS Joe AKL 2 0 0 2
HOULBROOKE Isaac NHR 2 0 0 2
LETT Dane WGN 0 2 0 2
LINTS Sam CAN 2 0 0 2
STEFFERT Cameron CAN 2 0 0 2


First Round Pool Standings

Women Pool A

Men Pool A








First Round Pool Results 

Auckland Women Auckland Men
Results – Pool A Results – Pool A
Sunday 11th Sep: Won 2 – 0 vs Otago

AKH Goals: Lucy Russ ’16, Phoebe Steele ’56.

Live Stream/Replay – Click here to view

Sunday 11 Sep: Won 2 -1 vs Manawatu

AKH Goals: Joe Crooks ’45, Arun Panchia ’60.

Monday 12 Sep: Won 2 – 1 vs Hawkes Bay

AKH Goals: Rhiannon Holdich ’14, Phoebe Steele ’17.

Live Stream/Replay – Click here to view

Monday 12 Sep: Won 4 – 0 vs Waikato

AKH Goals: Vinnie O’Connor ‘1, Jignesh Keshoor ’11, Nic Finlayson ’14 Joe Crooks ’44.

Live Stream/Replay – Click here to view

Tuesday 13 Sep: Lost 0 -2 vs North Harbour Tuesday 13 Sep Drew 2 – 2 vs Wellington (lost 3-1 in shoot out)

AKH Goals: Malcolm Curley ‘6, Daniel Easton ’21

Live Stream – Click here to view



Auckland Women’s Squad

Amelia Marlow
Antonia Cortesi
Emma Irwin
Emma Rainey
Francesca Williamson
Izzy Gill
Jayda Pawhau (GK)
Kaea Elliott
Kushla Glauser-Child
Lucy Russ
Neve Ferguson
Olivia Grigg (GK)
Phoebe Steele
Rebecca Baker
Rhiannon Holdich
Siennah Cowles
Sophie Richards
Zoe Teikamata

Head Coach: Simon Child
Assistant Coach: Kim Archibald
Assistant Coach: Josephina Ah Sam
Manager: Frances Kreft
Physio: Paul White

Auckland Men’s Squad  

Daniel Easton
Daniel Panchia
Dylan Muggleston
Arun Panchia
Jignesh Keshoor
Joe Crooks
Julius Talavou
Kim Kingstone
Malcolm Curley
Matthew Van Aardt (GK)
Mitchell Murray
Nic Finlayson
Owen Hood-Edwards
Reagan Harnell (GK)
Shae Iswar
Shay Lala
Vincent O’Connor
Will Stables

Head Coach: Arun Panchia
Head Coach: Clive Daniels
Assistant Coach: Ketan Hari
Manager: Dalien Venter
Physio: Paul White

AKH proudly acknowledge the support of our Partners