window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'G-7FKNC6S8N4', { 'link_attribution': true });

AKH 2023 Prize Giving Award Winners

Share this article

On Friday 17th of November Auckland Hockey hosted our annual prize giving, acknowledging and celebrating the accomplishments of teams and individuals, including some outstanding service awards.

Our NHC Women’s team picked up a number of awards following their successful NHC campaign with Simon Child receiving the Child/Law Trophy for Coach of the Year.

Kim Kingstone took out all 3 of the Men’s player of the year awards with a clean sweep of the Player of the Year, NHC Player’s Choice and NHC MVP! Tim Bond took out Umpire of the Year whilst Samantha Child (NHC Player’s Choice), Phoebe Steele (NHC MVP), Julia King and Izzy Gill (Player of the Year) also won awards.

The recognition of service theme started at the beginning of the prizegiving when two special watches were awarded to President Ray Parmenter and Vice President Neil McCorkindale for selfless service to hockey for over 50 years and as Judicial Commissioner respectively. Congratulations Ray and Neil and thank you for your selfless service and devotion to the Auckland Hockey Association for half a century.

We were also able to recognise the amazing contributions of many of our club stalwarts via our service awards. Congratulations to all of our award recipients.


2023 Most Improved Umpire (Male): Lachlan Purvis

2023 Most Improved Umpire (Female): Elize Meyer

2023 Commitment to Youth and Junior Hockey: Jaydep Keshaw

2023 Commitment and Service Award: Clive Daniels

2023 Women’s NHC Top Goal Scorer: Breana Catley, Izzy Gill, Rose Tynan & Lulu Tuilotolava

2023 Men’s NHC Top Goal Scorer: Hamish McGeorge (7)

2023 Women’s NHC Players Choice: Samantha Child

2023 Men’s NHC Players Choice: Kim Kingstone

2023 NHC Women’s MVP: Phoebe Steele

2023 Men’s NHC MVP: Kim Kingstone

2023 Master’s Team the Year: Women’s 60’s.

2023 Men’s Team the Year: U16 Boy’s

2023 Women’s Team the Year: NHC Women

2023 Services to Umpiring: Trish Hurley

2023 Services to Representative Hockey: Helen Clarke

2023 Women’s Player of the Year: Izzy Gill & Julia King

2023 Men’s Player of the Year: Kim Kingstone

2023 Umpire of the Year: Tim Bond

2023 Volunteer of Year: Philly Irvine

2023 Manager of Year: Dalien Venter & Frances Kreft

2023 Coach of Year: Simon Child

Women’s Club of The Year: Somerville

Men’s Club of the Year: Southern Districts

Overall Club of the Year: Somerville


Service Awards

Denise Smith – Silver Service Award (10+ years)

Mary Teleiai – Silver Service Award (10+ years)

Liz Russ – Gold Service Award (15+ years)

Jai Hira – Gold Service Award (15+ years)

Scott Loudon – Gold Service Award (15+ years)

Tricia Rangi – Gold Service Award (15+ years)

Marc Dudley – Gold Service Award (15+ years)

Jane Stone – Gold Service Award (15+ years)

Paul Stenberg – Gold Service Award (15+ years)

Bharat Sukha – Gold Service Award (15+ years)

Helen Colenso – Gold Service (15+ years)

Shirley de Vere – Gold Service Award (20+ years)

Paul de Vere – Platinum Service Award (30+ years)

Simon Joyce – Platinum Service Award (30+ years)




AKH proudly acknowledge the support of our Partners